Easy Ways to Cook while you Camp

Before I started camping, I talked to everyone who would listen about my new-found interest. I wanted to research (btw…I’m a thinker-planner personality type…i.e. I gather too much information) to get as many ideas, perspectives and opinions before I began. I researched tents, sleeping bags, air mattresses and lanterns. I googled first aid kits, camp chairs and bear spray. Then the most useful tip on cooking came from Kari while cutting my hair one Saturday afternoon  (Because of course, I talked to my hair stylist too…who doesn’t?). Kari camps with her family (husband, baby girl and two little boys). She encouraged me in my adventure and said cooking was easy! “Just get a campsite with electric and take an electric skillet,” she said. I never thought of that. I was planning to cook over a fire. One pan to clean. One pan for everything! Genious…I’m all about simplicity. So, that’s what I used for years.

Recently though, I’ve stepped out of the box and have tried some new things. I borrowed a friends propane camp stove and found that I loved it, so I bought one! It was great for boiling water for pasta and coffee (an absolute necessity). I also take my crockpot which is great for preparing chicken and can be used to cook several meals at once.

Despite these tried and true camp acoutraments, I’m always on the lookout for new ideas. Here are some fun things I’ve found (but not tried out yet). I’ll keep you posted on reviews.

1. The Wonder Bag, a slow cooker without using electric or gas (So cool!). Can’t wait to get one to try.

262693_orig

http://www.gocampingaustralia.com/wonderbag-review.html

2. Sea to Summit X-Pot collapsable cook set. Will save lots of space!

original-grid-image-13619-1436389405-23

http://www.seatosummitusa.com/product/?item=X-Pot&o1=0&o2=0&o3=100-22

3. Camp Chef camping oven and grill. A great all-in-one.

4fef34c9c96bbdc80566aaf0c10a34d3

https://www.sierratradingpost.com/camp-chef-outdoor-camp-oven-with-grill-propane~p~4979p/

Happy camping and happy cooking! Be adventurous and have fun!

Sheila

Leave a Reply

