AWSOME FOOD (for easy camping)

2-Ingredient-Slow-Cooker-Mexican-Chicken-5

It’s Saturday morning in July and I’m once again planning my next camping trip for August. Food is what’s on my mind. Easy food, good food, healthy food (not hot dogs and hamburgers). So I start my search and here’s what I came up with. Keep in mind, I haven’t made these recipes before.  I think it’s fun to try new things while camping, it’s part of the experience!  So try them with me.  Let me know what you think.

Saturday & Sunday morning Breakfast:

Make Ahead (In small mason jars) Oats with Fruit.  Just mix dry ingredients in several mason jars before your trip, add milk the night before, refrigerate in your cooler and voila! You have a healthy camping breakfast the next morning, easy peasy.  https://www.popsugar.com/fitness/Overnight-Oats-Recipe-34698639

Saturday Lunch:

Hummus Chicken sounds good with sliced cucumbers on the side.  Haven’t tried this before.  https://www.kimscravings.com/super-simple-hummus-chicken-salad/

Saturday Dinner: 

I’m taking my crockpot, an easy way to cook while camping, to make Salsa Chicken with Fresh Lime, Avacado, Cilantro and Corn Tortillas.  https://www.gimmesomeoven.com/2-ingredient-slow-cooker-salsa-chicken-recipe/

Snacks:

I’m on a low salt diet, so fruit, healthy multigrain tortillas (low salt) and fresh salsa for me.

Coffee (A must have):

I’m taking fresh ground coffee (probably a Starbucks variety) to brew in my new french press coffee pot.  It’s awsome on an early camping morning.  Here’s a link to my favorite coffee pot.

 http://www.cabelas.com/product/GSI-JAVA-PRESS/1965141.uts?productVariantId=4045128&WT.tsrc=PPC&WT.mc_id=BingPLA&WT.z_mc_id1=04062770&rid=20&gclid=CIHQ4YebndUCFTW3swod7aAOLA&gclsrc=ds

Let me know if you have found this article helpful for your next camping trip!  I’d love to hear from you.

Sheila

Leave a Reply

